Continuity in Miami Vice

mirrorimageegamirorrim

What is your opinion regarding the use of inter-episode/inter-season continuity in Miami Vice?  Despite the instances of recurring characters and the story arcs that result from them, most episodes of Vice are one-offs with no direct references to any other episodes. I can see positives and negatives in this approach.  Do you wish there had been a greater effort made to tie everything together?      

• Like 2

Yes!

Ah, brevity.  I can dig it.  

What would you like to change?  For example, in "One Eyed Jack" I've always thought the football jersey Gina was wearing on Sonny's boat should have been University of Florida colors.     

• Like 1

• Administrators

All those times when Sonny says "I've been working him for a few years", when a few years ago was season 1 and he wasn't working anyone...

• Like 1

It was never disclosed exactly how long Tubbs had been working for the NYPD, I would have liked to have known that, we know by One Eyed Jack he's been down in Miami for a month.

I also would like to know how long it had been in the Season finale since Sonny was Burnett.

Continuity is a pain.

Edited by Detective_Crockett
  • Like 1

There are some times I wish there was a greater effort to tie things together. For the most part, I'm very happy with what they did. There were some references here and there.

What I hated most was actors playing parts of a recurring character that wasn't originally played by that actor, (May Ying, Lombard's son etc., It took me out of the experience.) Also, I hated seeing the same actors playing different parts over, and over again. I wish they did HOLIDAY related shows (Shadow in the Dark being the closest to a Halloween episode).

Overall, I'm happy with what they did!

• Like 1

The most annoying thing is season 2 with Zito's beard coming and going and coming and going and coming and going...  :thumbsdown: