Exclusive interview Chris Flanger (Jan Hammer producer)

KaeptnCaipi

• Administrators

Mr. Flanger, you're manager of LuckySong - a production company based in Mannheim/Germany - and you produced the new Crockett's Theme von Jan Hammer feat. TQ.

1. Can your professional roots be found in the music industry or are you from the commercial sector?

I spent my whole life with music. I studied music in Stuttgart (6 years, major subject: classical guitar and composition) when I was 19. Afterwards I also gave lessons. I worked as producer and composer before i started with LuckySong.

2. Predominantly LuckySong promotes young talents at the beginning of their career. How did the contact to Jan Hammer came about?

Accidentally. I always loved "Crockett's Theme". So once a day I contacted Jan´s manager, produced a demo and sent it to Jan. He reacted instantly and so we made it!

3. Jan Hammer mentioned that Luckysong developed the idea of the new Crockett's Theme. How exactly did the idea of the reissue arise?

For four years I worked as night moderator from 12:00 am to 05:00 am at "Welle Fidelitas" ( private radio station in Karlsruhe/Germany ). Each morning I played Crockett's Theme as the very last title when I said good-bye to the listeners. I always thought that I would like to do "something" with that song! LuckySong gave me the chance to tealize my dream.

4. How did TQ came along?

Accidentally as well. I negociated with the group "Flyside" ( they had a hit four months ago - "Happy Birthday" - which is similar in sound and composition ). But in the end we didn't agree. At that time TQ was in Germany where he had some gigs. His agent, Ron Cooper, is a friend of mine. He asked me whether i'd like to meet TQ since he brought new stuff along. I met him and listened to his new songs. Then i asked him, whether he'd like to try a rap within this project. It worked!