Tubb's piece added to the collection

kokopelli

I figured what the heck- I finished the Crockett/Burnett carried gun collection, I figured Rico should get some love- just got this one:Eingefügtes BildEingefügtes Bild

I can't say that I am a gunsmith or a pro when it comes to everything ammunition, but is that a .38 snub nose? Looks like no exterior hammer as well, nice for concealment for detectives! Tony.

• Administrators
I can't say that I am a gunsmith or a pro when it comes to everything ammunition' date=' but is that a .38 snub nose? Looks like no exterior hammer as well, nice for concealment for detectives! Tony.[/quote']Great find! Yep that's a .38 snub nose. The gun is a 5 shot, but Tubbs usually managed anywhere from 8-12 without reloading! ;)It can be cocked by pulling back on the raised thumb lever.I think this was S&W's first attempt at a "DA" or recessed hammer for concealed carry.I have a S&W 649 (.357) and it is double action only. There is no hammer at all and therefore will not snag on clothing on a draw.

I often wondered if Tubbs carried the S&W 49 with a steel frame or a S&W 38 with the lightweight alloy frame.?( Don't believe it was ever addressed by Tubbs or anyone else in the series. Myself I'd say it would of been a Model 49 as the NYPD didn't approve of alloy frame S&W Snub Noses when the character Tubbs left them. Now I've read the NYPD doesn't allow revolvers at all now even those that had been grandfathered in.

That's a very unique gun. I knew Tubbs carried a 5-shot revolver, but I didn't know about the lever in place of the hammer.Do today's police carry revolvers anymore?