The last album you heard

ArtieRollins

Since I have become a member here, I have probably spent "some" time browsing through and finding great (both old favorites and new) songs in threads such as  Greatest 80's Songs What Are You Listening To Right Now? and specially  Rare '80s music, and it is nice to see the love for music on this forum, but then again, this is a Miami Vice forum, so I guess that is no surprise, considering all the classic tunes used over the years in the TV show, and how it has influenced my own music taste over time. 

Anyway, I am a bit of an album guy and thought about starting up an similar thread as  Movies you have seen recently, were one could leave a little review or rating of the last album you have heard and your thoughts of it. 

I start up with an album I bought a couple of weeks ago, from a band I only know through their hit singles, and have been listening to them for about 4-5 times, over past few days.

I am not very good at these things, so I will try to keep it short and simple, and put the album and its total score at the bottom.

inxs-j0276d_zpspdf31lut.jpg

INXS - Kick (1987)

Pop/rock

01. Guns in the Sky 2,5/10

Not a very impressive opener. The whole macho grunts done by Hutchence and its overblown production dominates but not in a good way, and for an album that is considered by many as an 80s "classic" it leaves me wondering how the hell such a bad number made it, not only onto the album, but as the opening cut. They should have just skipped this and went for a big, powerful song such as Need You Tonight or Devil Inside instead. I end up with generous 2,5/10 as the only reason I can think of, is that it only last for about 2 minutes and 20 seconds.

02. New Sensation 6/10

Great opening, full of melodic hooks right from the very start, and would have been a much better opening choice than the forgettable Guns in the Sky. Sadly it's chorus is a bit weak compared to the rest of the song.

03. Devil Inside 8,5/10