New York's Keeper

Augusta

Should we newcomers get an introduction out of the way? OK, here's mine.

I constantly say Vice has the identical power and importance as Star Wars: A New Hope. But while I was an avid collector of Star Wars stuff, I was never a Vice collector--not one single T-shirt, poster or memorabilia, no sunglasses, no interest in sitting in sports cars.

I'm a New York resident, in a current time when cheap cars are being jury-rigged to go recklessly fast and noisy, for illegal street racing again. (Some of us have fine performance cars BOUGHT from the performance makers---so I have a sort of disdain for the hootchy-neighborhood hot rod craze around me right now; we don't like to see a car driven like Vin-Diesel goofs, and we don't like the property damage)

I personally thanked God for the time period Miami Vice arrived in. Living with my mom at the time, the Dade County cops were my escape from mom's Dallas/Knot Landing torture.

I side with the folks who make the argument that Miami Vice was never over the top with its portrayal of the city of Miami, and that it was actually RIGHT ON target about the atmosphere and the coke playground of the city in the 80's.

I never picked sides with whether the primary protagonist character was Sonny or Rico. I don't know if it was deliberately realized by the actor, or required by the director, but I think it was excellent that Sonny was played as comfortably undercover in a city he knows well, while Rico was played as devil-may-care on the surface but at any moment becoming wide-eyed edgy in a city that's always kept potentially new to him throughout the series.

I never realized the creators-vs-studio politics that changed and eventually lowered Vice off my television screen. I just naively thought I'd gotten tired of the show. I suspect a lot of viewers wrongly believed the reason it got canceled is becasue we just "grew out" of the show, like we did with most series eventually.