Star Trek

Vincent Hanna

I'm a newbie to Trek, was listening to Red Letter Media vids on Youtube and their enthusiasm for Trek sparked my interest in the series.

So far I've seen the first season of the Original Series and it really is amazing. No wonder it's so beloved over 50 years later. :D I really like Gene Roddenberry's vision of the future where all the characters are self assure and don't have any internal conflicts. The crew of the Enterprise are professionals who are extremely competent at what they do. It's very Mann-esque. I saw a clips of Star Trek: Picard and those characters wallowing in nihilism and self-pity made me appreciate the optimism of TOS that much more.

All of the cast is great. Shatner, Nimoy and Kelley have really good chemistry together. You can believe Kirk and Spock are excellent leaders by the way they carry themselves. The writing is fantastic, there's a nice mixture of action, humour and poignant sci-fi stories. The minimalistic sets are really cool, the colourful lighting and sets reminded me a lot of Vice.

After TOS I'll check out TNG which a lot of people seem to love too so I'm excited. The other shows don't really look that appealing or have the same charm as the older shows but I'll try them out too.:thumbsup: (7 seasons of TNG might take awhile though. :wuerg:) But it's really fun so far.

Be aware that Next Generation takes until about season 3 to really find it's voice, about when Riker grows his beard, maybe. A lot of people didn't like it at first, but when it gets good, it gets really good. 

• Like 1

Yah It'll be interesting to see how the show evolves over time. I read that season 3 of TOS gets quite bad too so I'm ready for the shenanigans ;)