Is a 9mm pistol good defense vs bears?

cageyJG

https://www.ammoland.com/2018/02/defense-against-bears-with-pistols-97-success-rate-37-incidents-by-caliber/#axzz70RhcqR1Y

Just surfing around and wondered if anyone had logged any opinions on what are the choice pistols for backcountry camping. Disclaimer: I have never been one to get in gun arguments, and I came in with no opinion.

3 hours ago, cageyJG said:

https://www.ammoland.com/2018/02/defense-against-bears-with-pistols-97-success-rate-37-incidents-by-caliber/#axzz70RhcqR1Y

Just surfing around and wondered if anyone had logged any opinions on what are the choice pistols for backcountry camping. Disclaimer: I have never been one to get in gun arguments, and I came in with no opinion.

I’m not a gun expert by any means, and don’t own one in fact, but I have two close friends of mine from college who spent multiple seasons in Yellowstone National Park.  One is currently a National Park ranger there and has confronted grizzly on more than one occasion.  I should add that a camper was just killed by a griz near there within the last week or so.  Also, my other friend knew a woman badly mauled by one though she survived.

While my ranger friend has never had to use his weapon with a griz, his basic advice is “a shotgun is king against large mammals“.  He carries one during the summer tourist season and also in the winter when he goes along on snow coach rides. Perhaps a powerful handgun could be effective but a less than accurate shot could prove deadly.  The same would be true with a high power rifle.  If you’re hunting them, it may be effective, but if you’re surprised by one…

His name is Bob Kisthart, if you want to look up some of his beautiful photos on Flickr.  

Bob Kisthart

Edited by pahonu
  • Like 1
  • Sad 1

• Administrators