Genesis, Part IX

Robbie C.

“So he didn’t connect the Mendozas to Blade?”

Rico shook his head. “Not directly, lieutenant. But Newton also doesn’t move much product. At least he didn’t used to.”

Sonny sighed. “And he knew something about Stokes’s death. Cagey bastard wouldn’t commit, but you could see it in his eyes. And he changed the subject right after I mentioned his name. I’ve been working Newton Blade off and on for over three years, lieutenant. He’s careful. Never gets too close to the product he moves and sells.”

Castillo nodded. “Stay on it. We need to know if the Mendozas are in the game again. Trudy, welcome back. Check with the Coast Guard and see what they have on Newton Blade’s yacht. Recent movements.”

Trudy Joplin smiled. “You got it, lieutenant. And it’s good to be back. Gina and I also did some background work on the Mendoza family. The uncle’s company comes up clean. He’s been running fishing charters around Florida, the Keys, and farther out for years. The father’s pretty much retired to the family estate out in the Keys. His wife died about ten years ago, and the two boys don’t have much on them. The younger son, Enrique, has a few speeding tickets, but the older one is clean. Miguel Mendoza owns a small distribution company that supplies booze to high-end clubs and some stores.”

Gina took up the story. “Enrique used to work for the uncle, but he seems to have gone his own way in the last couple of years. No real job unless you count moonlighting for both his brother and his uncle. Small stuff, like taking a boatload of tourists out or lining up some distribution contracts.”

Castillo nodded, then turned to Larry and Stan. Larry looked at his notes. “The club’s still pretty much shut down, lieutenant. It looks like they’re trying to reopen, but with a new name on the title and liquor license.”