Question about watches

Vicefan7777

I do not have 5 grand to spend on a Rolex watch.  But I know there are numerous makers of replica Rolexes.  My question is does anyone in the Vice family have experience with purchasing a replica and had a good experience?  Can anyone recommend a manufacturer to buy from?  Thanks.

36 minutes ago, Vicefan7777 said:

I do not have 5 grand to spend on a Rolex watch.  But I know there are numerous makers of replica Rolexes.  My question is does anyone in the Vice family have experience with purchasing a replica and had a good experience?  Can anyone recommend a manufacturer to buy from?  Thanks.

If you mean you’d like to buy a watch that looks very much like a Rolex, here’s a video comparing a Submariner to an Invicta Pro Diver that is a great match.  I’ve had the mechanical Invicta for several years now and have been very pleased with it.  A handful of people have asked me if it is a Rolex and I laugh and tell them I’m a teacher, so no.  It is a very handsome watch though.  

These homage watches by different manufacturers can be strikingly similar to various Rolex models, but they don’t illegally mislabel them as Rolex.  Mine clearly says Invicta on the face and is etched in the side of the case and on the bracelet latch.

If you mean that you would like a watch that says Rolex on it, and I’m not making any judgement, then the sellers of such watches are not getting them from familiar  manufacturers ands it’s more of a crapshoot as to quality.  Anecdotally, a buddy of mine bought a “Faux-lex” on vacation in Thailand that cost a little MORE than my Invicta.   It didn’t last and the repair estimate wasn’t worth it he said.  I’m sure others have had better experiences.

If you’re looking for something like Crockett’s Rolex Datejust, here’s a good link:

https://cladright.com/watches-that-look-like-rolex-datejust/

A couple of the two-tone versions are remarkably similar.

Edited by pahonu
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1

• Administrators