70's to 90's themed gun thread

Miami_JBT

For those that don't know, I'm a gun guy. As in I literally am in the industry. I've been a cop for fifteen years but other than that, I've worked for a number of different gun shops and even had my own at one time. I'm now a gun rights lobbyist, but that's a whole other story and I'm not making this political. 

I have a collection that spans from Black Powder Muzzle Loaders to what was cutting edge ten years ago (the 2010s is about where my wallet said no more :)). But some of my favorites, are guns from the late 70s to the mid 90s. 

So I'll post random things in this thread. Retro gun ads, reviews, articles, silly facts, etc. 

So here's one....

FBI-Issued Smith & Wesson Model 1076 in 10mm Auto

PhotoFunia-1595522025.jpg

GklN5L1.jpg

On April 11, 1986, eight FBI agents engaged in a rolling gunfight with two armed bank robbers. The bad guys shot and killed FBI Special Agents Jerry L. Dove and Benjamin P. Grogan. In the incident’s aftermath, the FBI concluded that a failure of equipment caused the debacle . . .

Special Agent John Hall, chief of the Firearms Training Unit at the FBI Academy, presented then FBI Director William Sessions the results of a series of ammo tests. Agent Hall’s report concluded that the FBI needed a more effective caliber: 10mm. Director Sessions told Agent Hall, “If you find the right gun, we’ll find the money.”

Smith & Wesson stepped up to the plate with their brand new tough-as-nails 100 percent stainless steel Third Generation Series semi-automatic. In coordination with Agent Hall, the S&W Model 1076 was born. The FBI signed a contract for 9000 pistols over a three year period.

F5c3usL.jpg